The Seahawks Have Been “Swooshed”

Here’s how big the NFL is compared to the rest of the major professional sports leagues.  New uniforms in the NFL are a bigger deal than the start of MLB and the playoff push for the NBA.  I took an informal poll on the new ‘Hawks uniforms and found mixed responses.

My father via text – “New Uniforms Suck.”
My brother via text – “They look lame” (He actually said something I can’t repeat.  You can learn lots of new things from 9th graders).
Shawn Knight – “I’m glad Nike didn’t eff them up.”
Third&7’s own @Jonze33 – “New unis are pretty sick.  Which color should we get?”
Third&7’s @chaseperrin – “Do we have to quack at games now?”
My uncle Joel via Facebook – “I like them…”
Long time friend Josh Wanaka – “I wish they went away from the lime green.”
Long time friend Nik Hawkins – “I feel like Vince McMahon is going to pop out at any moment and say “THIS IS THE XFL!!!”

I want to start off by letting everyone know I have no interest in hearing the “tradition” speech.  We have one player in the Hall Of Fame and one trip to the Superbowl.  It’s time to close the chapter on the “Holmgren Years” and look ahead.  In 5 years there will be more teams with uniforms like ours.  Wouldn’t you rather be on the front end of something?  As cliche as it sounds, we are the ground-breakers.  The Cowboys, Steelers, and Packers of the league will always have the same look.  This is not your grandfather’s NFL.

I’m not shocked by what Nike did considering the experiments with the Oregon Duck program.  Nike and the ‘Hawks stepped on a ledge with the design but didn’t get too crazy.  I like the fact that we are the guinea pig of Nike and the rest of the league.  Why not?  It’s fun, new, and it reminds the rest of the country that the Pacific Northwest has some pull in the sports world.

This is also genius marketing by the Seahawks.  We are the 2nd least popular team behind the Jaguars.  Besides trading for Tim Tebow, this will sell Jerseys.  Keep in mind who wears jerseys.  Your 15 year old kid and 24 year old die hard fan will buy as many as they can.  Blue haired Husky fans who bitch about tradition are not wearing this.  Nike and the ‘Hawks nailed their target demographic here.

Don’t count out the players input either. Via twitter Nick Barnett, Jermichael Finley & others came out and said they loved these uniforms.  As an athlete, if you feel better, you will in fact play better.  Between our new uniforms and the VMAC, players not named Peyton Manning will want to come here.

Most of the country wanted us to ditch the green.  Since I’m bitter and hate most of the national media, I then say we need MORE GREEN!  F*CK EM!  GREEN EVERYTHING!  I love that we brought back the gray (there’s your tradition, now shut up).  The alternate gray top is awesome and it will be interesting to see if it will be worn versus white or colored jerseys.

I’d say the green on the pants is a little much but we’ll get used to it.  Gray pants should be standard.  My personal preference is to keep the jersey and pant color separate.  White pants in general are ridiculous.  My wife likes to point out the “reinforced butt-cracks” more visible on white pants.

If you are going to go buy a new jersey my advice would be this…go all out.  The new jerseys have stitching around the numbers that will look much different on replica jerseys.  Go authentic with these ones.

I’d give Nike an 8 out of 1o.

One thought on “The Seahawks Have Been “Swooshed”

  1. I like how the Seattle teams are choosing colors that more or less compliment each other. Look at the Seattle Mist uniforms… look carefully, and I think the colors are sort of the same…

Leave a Reply

