Thank you, Steve Jobs

I picked up my iPhone and opened Twitter to condense all of that into 140 characters. And then I saw. It’s one of those things that’s literally unbelievable until you have no absolutely choice but to realize the truth.
Matt Buchanan, Gizmodo

20111008-204807.jpg

I wasn’t sitting in an Apple store, I was at my desk, reading twitter on my iPad when I found out that Steve Jobs had passed away. It was as if I had been punched. A man I did not know had died, but somehow i felt it in a way I cannot explain. It felt like e future had been stole.

I honestly cannot put into words why, but his passing has really made me realize something. Steve Jobs was a hero to me.

Te first computer my family owned was a Mac. It sat in the basement for my parents to keep the family business ticking. We had a color printer that went with it, the kind that printed on long connected sheets and made a zzzzzzzzeeeet zzzzzzzzeeeet zzzzzzzzeeeet sound when it printed. I got to use very rudimentary software to make cards with it. I know now how lucky we were to have that computer. I also know that that Mac for ever changed my life.

When I got to school and got to go to the computer lab, it was a Mac I used to play Oregon Trail. And Carmen San Diego. Life further changed by a Mac.

A few years later we got a new computer – an iMac (the blue one). It had a modem and I was introduced to the Internet. It had QuickTime, and I saw my first video on the computer (Buddy Holly by Weezer). I played my first serious video game on that computer – a Star Wars flight simulator.

I remember wanting an iPod more than anything. I had a 200+ CD collection when it came out and all I wanted was all that music in my pocket. I got the 2nd gen version, with the glowing red buttons.

I watched as many “Steve-notes” as I care to remember, hanging on every word the bloggers typed, hoping for one more thing. I have sat in darkened movie theaters and marveled at the graphics of a movie, while I wiped tears from my eyes. I can’t wait to show my kids Wall-e and Toy Story 3 (so they learn to share their toys). Steve made those movies happen through Pixar.

I’ve had Macs, iPods, iPhones and now an iPad but the most important thing I got from Apple, and from Steve Jobs, was inspiration.

I work in technology, and care about technology, because of the Macs I Jed over the years, and the iPods, etc. I am where I am because of Steve Jobs (and others).

Others have great things to say about Steve Jobs, just search around and you’ll find great stories. Wired has a good roundup of eulogies, so does FastCompany. People more eloquent than I.

20111008-204843.jpg

All I have to say is this:
Thank you Steve. For the products. For the dedication. For the hard work. For never accepting less than perfect. For the inspiration. And for being my hero.

You will be missed.

Leave a Reply

