Retweeted by a Seattle Icon

Yes I, little ‘ol me living up in Bothell, WA was retweeted by THE Dave Simms.  Maybe not a Seattle icon, but it all went down like this:

I was tuning in to enjoy my new look Mariners on FSN when they showed Dave Simms and Mike Blowers in the booth.  Not to my surprise, Dave Simms was wearing yet another ridiculous looking hat…I know at least some of my colleagues agree that Dave Simms can be hard to listen to and completely over the top, so I know I’m not completely off my rocker here…So I was prompted to tweet the following:

how many hats does Dave Sims own? #DaveSimsMustBeStopped

Little did I know that THE Dave Simms would RT with:

I’ve lost count! It’s not a problem!!! RT @abuchanan30: how many hats does Dave Sims own? #DaveSimsMustBeStopped

Really?  That’s your response.  I’m not sure if he knew I was taking a jab at him or not.  I have to assume he did, so I do have to give him credit for taking it in stride and not taking it personally.  I gained respect for him as a professional, I just can’t stand him broadcasting for my baseball team.  Not only that, but other people defended Simms as well with their tweets:

@TheDaveSimsShow @abuchanan30 That is one sweet lid. #DaveSimsSweetLidClub.

Actually, it’s not a sweet lid.  Another gem from the peanut gallery commenting on the ridiculous white hat Simms changed his profile pic to after he retweeted me:

@TheDaveSimsShow @abuchanan30 a man can never have too many hats, and that white one is terrific!

Actually, even if he only had that one hat, it would be one too many.  And here’s the last one…not really worth mentioning since it’s bland, but here it is anyways:

@TheDaveSimsShow @abuchanan30 Nice Hat Dave!!

So what does this all mean?  Nothing really, other than I’ve proven that Dave Simms doesn’t really care what I think, and I’ll probably have to suffer through many more years of him on television broadcasts if I want to watch my Mariners.  Here’s to hoping that the Mariners can be competitive so that it’s worth the suffering.  I guess it could be worse.  At least we don’t have to deal with Bob Costas or Dan Fouts.  Have you ever grated your ears with a cheese grater?  That would be about the equivalent to either of those two, but that’s another topic for another time.

What TV announcer can you not stand?  TV personality?  Sound off if you have an opinion.  I’m probably not worth following, but you can find me on twitter @abuchanan30 if you haven’t figured that out already.

One thought on “Retweeted by a Seattle Icon

  1. I think we can all agree that Dave Niehaus didn’t want to live in a world where Dave Simms was behind a microphone for the Seattle Mariners…

    No? Just me?

    Simms is fine as a football or basketball guy. He is dreadful with baseball. Every time he feels obligated to fill dead air I want to light a kitten on fire.

Leave a Reply

