In Cinemas…Super 8

It might just be the fact that I’m still riding my high from seeing this film complete under 2 hours ago; but this is my statement: This Is The Best Movie of 2011. Without a doubt. There is no way anything else on the menu can even possibly knock this out of 1st place with me.

Super 8 is the brainchild of J.J. Abrams, who some of you may or may not know but he is basically Steven Spielberg Jr. Super 8, of course, is a reference to the type of film used back in the “olden” days before our fancy digital projects and such. A group of young kids in a small town witness a disaster that unleashes mystery, terror and intrique.

I feel like there are no words I can put in this piece that can justify how much I loved this movie. I want to go back and see it again, right now. The feel of the film was pure nostalgia; I felt like my 8 year old self sitting on the couch Saturday morning re-watching Goonies and Raiders of the Lost Ark. Super 8 has all the right pieces to make you remember what it was like to go to the movies. Before 3D Glasses. Before $10 ticket prices. Before annoying teenagers texting next to you. Super 8 simply made me feel like a kid again, which was a much welcomed retreat.

Overall Grade: A

3 thoughts on “In Cinemas…Super 8

Leave a Reply

