An Excerpt

Many of you might remember during Senior Year of High School that we kept little black books. No, not cool black books with tons of girl’s phone numbers in them. Geeky black books, where we would chronicle our crazy adventures and wacky quotes. This was initially started by Matthew Swartz and was adopted by myself and a few others before they lost interest or had to destroy their copies due to GF interference. The following is an excerpt from that book:

March 25th, 2002- Up On The Roof

In the neonic glow of the moon; Dave, Matthew and I made our way towards Mt. Rainier High School. Our mission, should we choose to accept it, was to climb onto the roof of the school and explore. Now me being the typical pussy I was skeptical about such an adventure, but held back my fears. After climbing up a brick wall, we proceeded to walk atop the roofs of the outdoor hallways. Once we made it to the first area of stable rooftop, we were distracted by a solo object located in the cafeteria. As Matthew and Dave stood there to determine if the object was a person, I scurried into the darkness. It was soon revealed that our person was indeed a stack of chairs. After making a quick bathroom break we proceeded towards the cafeteria roof. My lack of upper body strength lead to Matthew and Dave basically tossing me up the wall. After taking in the view from the highest point of the school, Matthew showed us the way were getting down:  a single pipe running from the roof down to the roof of the outdoor hallway. Matthew and Dave took it easily, but it took some motivational speaking from Matthew to get my ass down that pole. “If you don’t do it, I’m gonna tell Haley how much of a pussy you are.” Since I can’t have that happening, I finally got the nerve to go down the pole. Once I was down I laughed caused it wasn’t that far at all, I was just being myself. As we made our way back towards the brick wall we originally scaled, Matthew lept from the roof without warning onto the grassy null below. Dave and I looked at each other and shook our heads no. Dave climbed down the wall while I stood there contemplating my next move. Matthew continued to climb up the wall simply to jump off the roof over and over. Matthew made one last climb and stood next to me on the roof, we watched Dave pee on a tree. Suddenly, we heard the faint sound of sirens in the distance. Our first instinct was to get the hell out of there, so in a leap of faith I jumped from the roof and did a barrell roll onto a stump. Matthew followed and we laid in the grass to listen for the siren, which had ceased. For a split second, our dance with the law had us scared enough to make me take a leap, from a roof.

Leave a Reply

