May the Force Be With You

Star Wars

There are very few movies that have had the impact and longevity that the Star Wars franchise has had.

I can remember the first time I saw it, know that from that point on I was going to be a fan. I t was the gateway drug for me and science fiction. It opened the door to shows and movies like Star Trek, Quantum Leap, Flight of the Navigator and more.

I can’t imagine what it was like going to that theater, opening weekend 30+ years ago and having that experience.

Sure, the acting is bad (case in point, Mark Hamill), the dialog stilted (“Well, you can forget your troubles with those Imperial slugs. I told you I’d outrun ’em… Don’t everyone thank me at once.“) and the story ripped off from all kinds of places (for example) but that’s ok with a movie that inspires you. Star Wars is about building and creating. And thanks to it we have movies today that are better, many inspired by Star Wars.

So, today I say, May the 4th be with you! Happy Star Wars Day! (Only slight less nerdy a holiday than Pi day on March 14.)

Leave a Reply

