Dear American Pie

Hello. How have you been? It’s been 8 years since we last saw each other. It’s good to hear your voice again. It’s good to see you’re doing good, making a new name for yourself. I have to admit, it was a little surprising to see you jump back into my life again after all these years. I mean yeah, there have been some lesser versions of you; less attractive and ultimately not worth the time.

From Fused Film

And here we are, 2011, and you’re coming back into my life. Next year will mark our American Reunion, getting the gang back together for what will probably, and hopefully, be the last time. In all seriousness, I’m excited about the opportunity to continue our adventures. In 1999 you captured my attention, ultimately becoming the “Animal House” of my generation. But it wasn’t until our next meeting in 2001 that we truly started relating to each other.

See you in April 2012.
Faithfully Yours,
Jonesy

Bottom Line: It’s not often that you encounter a film franchise that parallels your own life, I’m not talking about me getting it on with a pie, but encountering those same issues of sex, school and what the hell am I going to do with my life? American Pie 2 really connected with me; made me fully think about my life and the people who matter most that make up that life and ultimately become your family. Call me stupid for thinking that this post means something, most people just think of movies as entertainment for 2 hours. Guess that’s why my heart will always be at the cinema…

Leave a Reply

