Introductions: Jon

Smells like...Victory.

I guess the best way to describe myself in a few words would be “Renaissance Man“.  I have a lot of widely divergent interests: everything from books, music, movies, and history – especially medieval European, but anything in general, the more ancient/unknown, the better – to motorcycles, ice hockey, and outdoor activities – primarily backpacking, hiking & camping, and shooting, but also a good deal of backcountry skiing (“Nordic” if you must classify it) and snowshoeing.  Also, look for the occasional forays into esoteric philosophy, theology, and conspiracy theories – don’t ask about these last unless you really want to know, and then prepare for an earful (or “eyeful”, considering the medium).  Concerning the latter, if anyone starts in on the whole “Reptoids control the government, man!” spiel (or “Jesus was actually an alien!” or some such nonsense), prepare to be ridiculed, derided, and harangued into oblivion.

For fun (outside of the obvious excursions into the aforementioned activities), I play, write & record music, train in Western Martial Arts (primarily sword & buckler fencing at the moment), brew beer, read everything I can get my hands on, and nerd it up with my home-built computer.  This is by no means a comprehensive list.  About the only things you won’t hear me chime in on are sports (besides hockey – which, even so, I prefer to play rather than talk about) and politics – I opt to leave the banter and posturing to others, at least in those fields.  While I don’t claim to be an expert in most things, expect at least a somewhat-informed opinion on a wide variety of topics.  My main objective is to bring a bit of perspective to this whole travesty.  Consider yourselves (my fellow Third and 7′ers included) warned.

Leave a Reply

