2011 ‘Hawks Draft Preview

This is the time of year where we close the books on the 2010 season and get jacked up for the 2011 season. The NFL draft begins Thursday and runs though Saturday.  I’m still not all that thrilled about the new three-day format.  I fear change, I suppose.

Here’s my take on what the ‘Hawks would and should do.

This year we will have a very anticlimactic draft. The team needs are far greater than what any one player can provide. (If you say Jake Locker, feel free to email ThirdAnd7@gmail.com with your home address and I’ll come punch you in your Husky loving face). We clearly don’t have the excitement of two picks in the top 14 like last year.  That leaves us without much to get excited for in terms of star power.

This team needs to get younger and Schneider is the man who knows his way around the late rounds of the draft. I’m good with Pete & John trading out of the first round and taking 7 or so guys we haven’t heard of. The ‘Hawks are going to pick some obscure guys and we will have to shrug our shoulders and hope for the best. Sorry, I forgot to say “spoiler alert!” before I told you what would happen.

If you wasted the last three months on ESPN you should know the draft “experts” don’t know shit. (I’m saving my curse words for when they really apply…this is one of those times). Mel McShay and Todd Kiper literally get paid to sit in front of a camera and tell you who is a better player with no recourse for their actions. In 2019, nobody will remember Kiper argued in favor of Jimmy Smith over Prince Amukamara.

Oh, and if you are looking for expert analysis from this blog, Jimmy Smith is an inch taller.  He’s much better at defending the deep ball and would match up better against the tall receivers of the NFC West. You know how I came up with that spectacular insight? I f***ing Googled it. In 5 years we will know. Until then, the “draft experts” are just another couple of buttholes with opinions.  I suppose that now includes me.

One thought on “2011 ‘Hawks Draft Preview

  1. you said butthole….I wish the Draft was more exciting this year, this lockout just kinda knocks the wind out of it in addition to you mentioning that our pick is not that exciting.

Leave a Reply

